Pat Metheny & Brad Mehldau - Metheny Meldau Quartet (2007)

Artist: Pat Metheny & Brad Mehldau
Title Of Album: Metheny Meldau Quartet
Year Of Release: February 13, 2007
Label: Nonesuch
Genre: Jazz Instrument
Format: MP3
Quality: VBR kbps I 44.1 Khz I Joint Stereo
Total Time: 1 h 13 min 9 sec
Total Size: 123 mb

1. A Night Away (8:01)
2. The Sound Of Water (3:57)
3. Fear And Trembling (6:59)
4. Don't Wait (7:13)
5. Towards The Light (8:13)
6. Long Before (7:00)
7. En La Tierra Que No Olvida (7:45)
8. Santa Cruz Slacker (6:12)
9. Secret Beach (9:10)
10. Silent Movie (6:08)
11. Marta's Theme (from "Passagio per il Paradiso") (2:31) … .part1.rar … .part2.rar

Pat Metheny/Brad Mehldau: Pat Metheny (guitar); Brad Mehldau (piano); Larry Grenadier (bass instrument); Jeff Ballard (drums).

Following up on the meeting of the progressive-jazz minds that took place on Pat Metheny and Brad Mehldau's mostly-duets album METHENY/MEHLDAU, the forward-looking pair expand their partnership to include a rhythm section on most of the songs. In this format, Metheny and Mehldau bring out the best in each other; simultaneously providing a framework for gorgeously melodic lines and egging one another on to the outskirts of improvisation.

Though the guitarist and pianist are of different generations, it's this combination of beauty and bravery that gives them their common ground. On "Silent Movie," for example, they indulge in a lambent feel, slowly unfurling lines of elegance and grace. Meanwhile, the quirky harmonies and free time they get into with "Santa Cruz Slacker," among others, reminds one of why both men remain leading lights of the post-bop world.